Halloween Altered Altoid Tin

UDATE:  please go here for a great tutorial on the basics of altering Altoid tins.

This would be my first attempt at altering an Altoid tin. Really, up until a few months ago, I’d never actually heard of such a thing. But just Google it, and you’ll see there’s a whole world of crafty alteration that can be done to an Altoid tin.

So the day before Halloween I finally took the plunge and decided to decorate the outside and inside of my tin. There are many tutorials online for the basic process of how to get all the tin’s surfaces covered. Then you just embellish – which can be fun if you have a plan. I didn’t really have a plan, though I knew that I wanted a semi-3D type thing going on inside the tin, while the outside could be simpler. In the future I would like to thoroughly plan out my design so that I can use my own drawings or sculpts for the inside. But this time around I relied heavily on scrapbooking supplies to accomplish my goal.

I think it turned out kind of fun and cute. Normally I would do something much more ghoulish or creepy for Halloween – but I was more interested in learning the process this time around. So, here’s my tin – I hope you have a very fun and happy Halloween!!

My tin….

Started out as an ordinary wintergreen mint tin.

Initially I couldn’t quite choose between vintage or whimsical for the exterior. So I did both.

It was fun choosing different patterns for different surfaces.

Now I’m thinking maybe I should have gone for a casket-themed design…

But the trick-or-treat theme won out in the end!

(BTW, the headstones at the bottom spell “CREEPY”)

13 comments on “Halloween Altered Altoid Tin

  1. mazsamem7 says:

    Not an Altoids-eater, so I doubt if I would have known about the craft if not for you. The things I learn reading Catholic blogs… 😀 I’ve altered a few things in my day, decoratively speaking. Your design is cute and (to quote some tombstones) creepy. Happy Halloween, Kim!

    • Thanks, mazsamem7! Happy Halloween to you! I’m not really much of an eater of Altoids either, but I saw someone’s tin on Pinterest and wanted to try it too. I just dumped all the mints into a baggy and keep it in my car in case of a breath-freshening emergency. 🙂

  2. Christine says:

    You’re so talented! Have you ever thought of going into face painting? You’d love your canvas’s!

    God bless you both!

    • Haha, thanks Christine! But no, I’ve never tried face painting. I don’t want to be scrubbing the poor person’s face over and over from my inevitable mess ups. IDK, maybe someday – but for now I’ll leave that to the pros. 🙂

  3. Very interesting idea and your version turned out so cute. You have so much talent in all
    that you do.
    Enjoy your Halloween!

  4. I have a bunch of tins ready to “hack.” I am not artistic, so mine would be less artsy and more “Tactical” and “useful.” Like…http://www.altoidssurvivalkit.com/

  5. mazsamem7 says:

    Kim, the breath emergency Altoids…wonder if they could be worked into Patrick’s TACTICOOL Tins? How refreshing 😉 to picture the two of you joining in a shared hobby. I can’t help it, but from now on, I’ll think of you as the Crafty Couple. 😀

  6. Smoochagator says:

    WOW. That is a seriously cool tin. I am impressed by & envious of your patience & creativity!

    • Aww, thanks, Smooch! But it wasn’t actually as trying of a craft as I thought it would be. I bet you’d be great at altering tins and really enjoy it too.

      Later today, when I’m home from work, I’ll post a link to a very helpful tutorial on the basics of altering Altoids tins – in case anyone might want to try it for themselves. It’s a great craft for the Holidays!

Leave a Reply

